Ron Jones has been leading Elmbrook Rotary’s scholarship efforts for years and recently announced that the recipients of this year's awards have been named after a thorough process over the past few months.
The recipients include Elisha Vang from Brookfield Central High School and Cathy Liu and Ellen Smogoleski from Brookfield East. They will be recognized at the Awards Night ceremonies on Wednesday, May 27th at Central and June 1 at East where President Tom Curl will be giving them their certificates.
Elisha will be attending WCTC, Cathy will be attending UW-Madison and Ellen will be attending UW-La Crosse beginning in the fall of 2015. The College scholarships are valued at $1,000 per year for four years and the Vocation scholarship is valued at $1,000 per year for two years.
The process took three teams of club members to examine all 34 scholarship applications and interview the 6 finalist applicant Scholars.
Team 1 collated the applications with reference letters, made sure each application was complete, reviewed and scored each scholarship application to establish how active the scholar is with co-curricular and extra-curricular activities as well as their work History and rated their Essay. This process narrowed the applications down to 20. Team 2 then reviewed and scored the Rotary Supplemental Essay questions and Reference Letters for the 20 remaining scholars. The team selected the six semi-finalists to be interviewed and selected one Vocational scholar. Finally, Team 3 interviewed the six semi-finalists and Team selected the final three college scholarship recipients. The teams consisted of the following Rotarians:
Team 1   

Ron and Barb Jones  
Team 2  
Dan Roads
Jeanne Allen
Kate Bloomberg
Jan Constable
Jon Winkle
Ralph Gould
Barry James
Wall Smanski        
Team 3
Marie Owens
Dr. John Schesta
Dean Johnson

Thanks to all those who took part in this year’s effort and congratulations to the scholarship award winners. For more information on the each of recipients click here.
Ron Jones