Posted on May 30, 2019
Recipients of the 2019 ERC AVID Scholarships have been announced. There are two four-year awards and one two-year award. To be eligible, students have to be actively involved in the AVID program at Brookfield Central H.S. or Brookfield East H.S.
Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) is a school-wide approach to curriculum and rigor adopted by more than 4,000 schools in 45 states and 15 countries over 28 years. It is a research-based program that equips students to meet the challenges of rigorous coursework in high school and college.
The recipients at Brookfield Central are Anita Ayala (four-year winner), who intends to major in Criminal Justice at UWM, and Emily Metzinger (two-year winner), who will pursue a Business associate degree at WCTC. The Brookfield East recipient is Mariana Brown (four-year winner), who intends to study Business at Arizona State University.
ERC President Kevin Roche with Mariana Brown
2019 AVID Scholarship Winner at Brookfield East H.S.
Elmbrook Rotary extends hearty congratulations to the scholarship recipients and wishes much success for them in their college endeavors!